CSW is held at the United Nations Headquarters, in New York.
The precise dates change every year, but it always runs for ten working days. In 2014, it ran from 10-21 March. It has been tentatively scheduled for 9-20 March 2015.
The Commission is a functional commission of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).
The main session consists of high-level roundtables, panel discussions and the official negotiations. These are generally open only to representatives of: Member States who form the Commission, select intergovernmental organisations, regional commissions, select international agencies and UN programmes. Representatives of UN Member States who are not on the Commission may be in the room only in an observer capacity, as may other organisations by special invite.

Side events refer to activities outside the formal programme during the CSW. These are held on UN premises and are hosted by Permanent Missions and UN Entities. As such, NGOs require accreditation status or special registration to attend.

Parallel events are held outside of UN premises, and may be organised by any NGO (through the NGO Committee on the Status of Women). These are open to attendance by any member of the public.

The Commission comprises 45 Member States each year. Each Member State serves for a term of four years, and distribution of the Member States is based on geographical regions:
Thirteen from Africa

Eleven from Asia-Pacific

Nine from Latin America and the Caribbean

Eight from Western Europe and other States

Four from Eastern Europe

The UN website is the best place to find official information about CSW, including its history and technical elements. 

For a full overview of CSW58, including official documents, please see the UN Women website. As information on CSW59 becomes available, it will be made available here.

The NGO Committee on the Status of Women are in charge of all parallel events.